What’s the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Your State?

What’s the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Your State?

You will be personally liable for medical expenses and property damages in case of an accident if you do not have an auto insurance policy. Every driver in all the states of the USA is required to purchase an auto insurance policy. You can drive without an auto insurance policy in New Hampshire state only. The injured party can sue you in court for the damages and injuries caused by you. It is against the state law if you are caught driving without auto insurance in any state of the USA except New Hampshire. In Virginia, you can drive without auto insurance but you need to pay $500 for the privilege of driving uninsured.

Here are some more insurance tips you may find useful: https://blog.mymoneymyquotes.com/does-car-insurance-cover-hurricane-damage/

What happens if you are caught driving without auto insurance?

Penalties for driving without auto insurance depend upon the state where you live. Penalties for driving without auto insurance include:

  1. Fine
  2. Jail time
  3. Points on your license
  4. Suspension or cancellation of license
  5. Suspension of registration or plates
  6. Having your vehicle impounded
  7. Reinstatement fees and court fees
  8. You may be required to file an SR-22 with the state. It is a document that proves that you have auto insurance. Your auto insurance policy will be expensive if you are required to file an SR-22.

There are different types of penalties for driving without auto insurance according to your state.

States Penalties for driving without auto insurance
Alabama
  1. Fine of $500 or more 
  2. Suspension of registration
Alaska
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Jail of 90 days
  4. The requirement to file an SR-22
Arizona
  1. Fine of $500-1000
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension of registration
Arkansas
  1. Fine of minimum $500
  2. Suspension of registration
California
  1. Fine of $100-250
  2. Having your vehicle impounded
Colorado
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Suspension of license
Connecticut
  1. Fine of $100-200
  2. Jail of 90 days
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license
Delaware
  1. Fine of $1000-3000
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of license
  4. Suspension of number plates
Florida
  1. Fine of $30-100
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of license
  4. Suspension of number plates
  5. The requirement to file an SR-22
Georgia
  1. Fine of $200-1000
  2. Jail of one year 
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license
  5. The requirement to file an SR-22
Hawaii
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Suspension of license
  3. The requirement to file an SR-22
Idaho
  1. Fine of $100
  2. Suspension of license
  3. The requirement to file an SR-22
Illinois
  1. Fine of $500-1000
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of license
Indiana
  1. Fine of $300-1000
  2. Suspension of license
  3. The requirement to file an SR-22
Iowa
  1. Fine of $300
  2. Suspension of number plates
  3. Having your vehicle impounded
Kansas
  1. Fine of $300-1000
  2. Jail of 6 months
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license
Kentucky
  1. Fine of $500 to $1000
  2. Jail of 90 days
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license
Louisiana
  1. Fine of $150-800
  2. Jail of 30 days
  3. Having your vehicle impounded
  4. Suspension of number plates
Maine
  1. Fine of $50-500
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of license
  4. The requirement to file an SR-22
Maryland 
  1. Fine of $1000-2500
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of number plates
  4. Jail of 6 months
Massachusetts
  1. Fine of $1000-5000
  2. Jail of one year
  3. Suspension of license
Michigan
  1. Fine of $200-600
  2. Jail of one year
  3. Suspension of license
Minnesota
  1. Fine of $200-1000
  2. Jail of 90 days
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license
  5. Having your vehicle impounded
Mississippi
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Suspension of license
Missouri
  1. Fine of $300- 500
  2. Jail of 15 days
  3. Suspension of license
  4. Suspension of registration
Montana
  1. Fine of $200-500
  2. Jail of 10 days
Nebraska
  1. Fine of $50-100
  2. Jail of 6 months
  3. Suspension of license
  4. Suspension of registration
  5. The requirement to file an SR-22
Nevada 
  1. Fine of $200-1000
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. The requirement to file an SR-22
New Jersey
  1. Fine of $250-1000
  2. Suspension of license
New Mexico
  1. Fine of $200-1000
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Cancellation of number plates
New York
  1. Fine of $200-1500
  2. Jail of 15 days
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license
  5. Having your vehicle impounded
North Carolina
  1. Fine of $100-1000
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension registration
  4. Cancellation of number plates
North Dakota
  1. Fine of $200-5000
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of registration
Ohio
  1. Fine of $150-700
  2. Suspension of license
  3. The requirement to file an SR-22
Oklahoma
  1. Fine of $200-300
  2. Jail of 30 days
  3. Cancellation of registration
  4. Cancellation of number plates
Oregon
  1. Fine of $100-1000
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of license
  4. Having your vehicle impounded
  5. The requirement to file an SR-22
Pennsylvania
  1. Fine of $100-300
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Having your vehicle impounded
Rhode Island
  1. Fine of $100-1000
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. The requirement to file an SR-22
South Carolina
  1. Fine of $100-600
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Cancellation of number plates
  5. The requirement to file an SR-22
South Dakota
  1. Fine of $100-550
  2. Jail of 30 days
  3. Suspension of license
  4. The requirement to file an SR-22
Tennessee
  1. Fine of $20-300
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Cancellation of registration
Texas
  1. Fine of $150-400
  2. The requirement to file an SR-22
Utah
  1. Fine of $300-1000
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Suspension of registration
Vermont
  1. Fine of $20-500
Virginia
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Suspension of registration
  3. Suspension of license
  4. The requirement to file an SR-22
Washington
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Cancellation of license
West Virginia
  1. Fine of  $250-5000
  2. Jail of minimum 15 days to maximum one year
  3. Cancellation of registration
  4. Suspension of license
Wisconsin
  1. Fine of $500
  2. Suspension of license
  3. Cancellation of registration
Wyoming
  1. Fine of $200-1500
  2. Jail of 6 months
  3. Suspension of registration
  4. Suspension of license

It is the biggest mistake when you assume that all the companies are the same and provide the same services. You should compare the services offered by different car insurance companies before purchasing the car insurance policy.

At MyMoneyMyQuotes.com, consumers can shop and compare auto insurance quotes online for free and find the best and cheap rates for their coverage needs for an auto insurance policy.

MyMoneyMyQuotes

MyMoneyMyQuotes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *