Minimum car insurance

Minimum car insurance

All the states of the USA are required to purchase a car insurance policy to drive legally on the road. Minimum car insurance is mandatory for drivers in all the states of the USA but the requirement of coverage limits of minimum car insurance is different in all the states. In some states of the USA, drivers are required to carry medical coverage or uninsured motorist coverage as a part of the car insurance policy.

Police can arrest you and suspend your license if you are caught driving without minimum car insurance required by the state. To protect yourself from paying fines and penalties you must need to purchase minimum car insurance. In case of an accident if you want to recover the losses then you need at least minimum car insurance to file a claim to recover the losses otherwise you would have to pay for the damages from your pocket. 

Minimum car insurance provides liability coverage which protects you against the property damage and injuries to others if you are at fault in an accident. Minimum car insurance provides two types of protection:

  • Bodily injury liability

Bodily injury liability helps to cover the medical expenses and hospital bills of others caused by you in a car accident. 

  • Property damage liability

Property damage liability helps you to cover the cost to repair the damages caused to others’ vehicles when you hit another drivers’ car.

Minimum car insurance coverage limits

If you do not have minimum car insurance then other drivers can sue you in the court to cover the damages if you are at fault in an accident.  Before purchasing car insurance policy you need to check minimum car insurance coverage limits according to the state where you live.  Following are the car insurance coverage limits for different states of the USA:

State Coverage limits
Alabama
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Alaska
  1. $50000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $100000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Arizona
  1. $15000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $30000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Arkansas
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
California
  1. $15000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $30000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $5000 property damage liability per accident
Colorado
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $15000 property damage liability per accident
Connecticut
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Delaware
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Florida $10000 bodily injury liability per person
Georgia
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Hawaii
  1. $20000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $40000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Idaho
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $15000 property damage liability per accident
Illinois
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $20000 property damage liability per accident
Indiana
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Iowa
  1. $20000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $40000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $15000 property damage liability per accident
Kansas
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Kentucky
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Louisiana
  1. $15000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $30000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Maine
  1. $50000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $100000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Maryland 
  1. $30000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $60000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $15000 property damage liability per accident
Massachusetts
  1. $20000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $40000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $5000 property damage liability per accident
Michigan
  1. $20000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $40000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Minnesota
  1. $30000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $60000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Mississippi
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Missouri
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Montana
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Nebraska
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Nevada 
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
New Hampshire
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
New Jersey
  1. $5000 bodily injury liability per accident
  2. $15000 property damage liability per accident
New Mexico
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
New York
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $50000 property damage liability per accident
North Carolina
  1. $30000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $60000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
North Dakota
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Ohio
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Oklahoma
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Oregon
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $20000 property damage liability per accident
Pennsylvania
  1. $15000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $30000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $5000 property damage liability per accident
Rhode Island
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
South Carolina
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
South Dakota
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Tennessee
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $15000 property damage liability per accident
Texas
  1. $30000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $60000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Utah
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $65000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $15000 property damage liability per accident
Vermont
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Virginia
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Washington
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
West Virginia
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $25000 property damage liability per accident
Wisconsin
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $10000 property damage liability per accident
Wyoming
  1. $25000 bodily injury liability per person
  2. $50000 bodily injury liability per accident
  3. $20000 property damage liability per accident


Compare car insurance quotes for free at MyMoneyMyQuotes.com. The free insurance quotes provided by MyMoneyMyQuotes.com allows you to compare insurance quotes easily and choose the best insurance policy according to your need.

MyMoneyMyQuotes

MyMoneyMyQuotes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *